This is a big one! User Roles sounds pretty simple but it comes with dozens of new features and concepts that we have worked carefully to craft to take Markee to the next level. Check out the video below for a detailed explanation of these new features. In short this update brings:
Global User Roles
We have now added Global user roles to Markee. This means we now define how users are classified across entire Sites / Domains. This means that you can finally add new "admins" yourself, which we are calling "Hosts". You can also add new attendees which are now called "Guests".
When you add a user at the Site level this will define general permissions at only the Site level based on their Global User Role. This will not add them to any specific Spaces, you can do that later at the Space level.
When you add a user at the Space level it will grant that user access to the Space based on the "User Group" permissions (Discussed below). You will see that user turn up at the Site level, however you will still need to decide what other Spaces you'd like to add them to, if any.
The Global user groups you can select from and their settings are as follows:
- SuperHost: Can manage Site level settings, manage Spaces, and invite new Hosts or Guests to the site.
- Host: Can manage Spaces and invite new Guests to the Site.
- Guest: Can view public spaces and spaces they are registered to.
Add Users with Email Invites
We heard your voices and found a way to sneak this into this release. When you add a user to the Site and Space level, it will now send and automated email inviting that user to your space. They will simply click the link and sign up to create their account.
One of the by-products of creating robust user systems is providing a more granular way to control the Spaces you create and who has access to them. That said, we have decided to introduce an entirely new way to think about your Spaces. From now on when you create a Space you will become the "Owner" of that Space. Meaning you can decide who else can access or edit your Space, including those within your organization. To allow others to access or edit, you simply need to add them to your space in the new "Access" settings you will find at the bottom of the Sidebar. Here are few key things to remember about the new Owner feature:
- Who can own a space? Only Hosts and SuperHosts.
- Can my team access my space? By default only if you set up a "Team Space". You will be able to define what they can do in your space however.
- Can the public access my space, if so what can they do? Only if you decide to make a public space. By default anyone outside of your organization will be restricted to view only settings.
- Have events changed at all? No, however you are working on an event with multiple people you will need to give them access through the new permission settings.
- What happens if we need to remove a user? Don't worry, you can transfer those Spaces to another Host!
Space Types & Access
When you create a new space in Markee, we will now ask you to define the type of space you are creating. This will do three things: set the default access settings, set the visibility of the space in the directory, and create a set of "Groups" in the new access panel (More on this below). This will allow you to have some elegant defaults to start with as you decide how you want to define access to your space.
- Private: Only the people you invite can access this space.
- Team: All Hosts on the site can access this space.
- Public: Hosts and anyone with the link will be able to access.
- Event: Registration, ticketing, event features enabled.
When you create a Space, each will come with a set few preset groups, which you will be able to modify the permissions of to your needs. This will allow you to define access and abilities within the space without having to apply them to each user individually. There are 2 types of groups:
- Default Groups - These must be defined based on the type of space you select!
- Custom Groups - You can add as many or as little groups as you need based on the needs of your space. This is super helpful for defining access of Event tickets. Test it out!
After you have created a new Space, you will be able to define the permissions of any of these groups. The following are the permissions you can define:
Visibility: This allows you to define who can see who in your space.
- Full: Users can see all other users in the space
- Half: Users can see Hosts
- None: Users can see no one.
- Full: Can use the collaboration tools
- None: Can view only
Chat: This only affects "public" chats inside of the HomeRoom or Rooms.
- Full: Users can see all other users in the space
- Half: View only
- None: No access
Manage: Only SuperHosts and Host will be allowed to use Manage Settings.
- Full: Invite to Stage, Broadcast, Ticketing & Registration, Manage Users, Create Rooms
- Half: Invite to Stage, Broadcast, Manage Forums (Q&A), Manage Polls
- None: View Only
Define Room access
You can now define whether or not certain Groups have access to a specific room or not. You will find these settings both in the room and at the Space Access settings.
Banning / Kicking
At the site level you will be able to click the menu beside each user and select whether you would like to "Delete" or Ban the user. This will ban the user from the entire Site, and is undoable.
At the space level you will be able to ban the user from the site bar, or the Access menu. This will ban the user from the Space only, and is undoable.
Importing Users from a Spread Sheet or Other Spaces
At the space level, you are now able to hit the drop down menu next to the invite button and "Import" a user group. You will have two options, either import a group from another Space or Import from a spreadsheet. This is a simple way to add bulk users quickly!